Western mind with an eastern soul

IMG_20160417_154149[1].jpgOver the past weekend, I attended a prayer.  I am not the typical indian girl with a closet full of traditional indian attire.  Give me a pair of shorts, a tee and flip flops anyday and I will be at my happiest. But I managed to find something to wear, in one of my favourite colours…Navy and gold.

A sarie is just so elegant.  I watched my mom wrap it so many times.  However, I have still not mastered the art of tying it myself.  And when I do, I end up tripping all of the place as it hangs in all the wrong places.

I enjoy wearing a sarie especially if it is thin and sheer, as it gets very uncomfortable in the sticky humid South African weather.

This was a very simple sarie with minimal work and no beards.  It did have some embroidery work on it which matched the gold blouse.  Sometimes less is more, and in this case…. it certainly was!

I tried to keep my make-up as simple as possible, but a bold lip gave the ensemble the pop of colour that it craved, which just happened to match my nails. I love the M.A.C mineralized lipstick. the colour I am wearing is Lush Life, and the lip liner is called Beet, also from M.A.C.

IMG_20160418_105153[1].jpg

I paired the navy sarie with a gold blouse, some gold wedges and a simple gold chain.

 

Hope you enjoyed reading my post.  Come back soon 😀

 

RK

xx

 

Leave a comment